Anaïs MEYSSONNIER
Golfer

Anaïs received a grant to finance her participation in international competitions. 

 

What is your sporting background?

I started golf at the age of six because my parents played it. I didn't get hooked right away, preferring to rollerblade and climb trees, then I did climbing in secondary school for four years. It wasn't until I was about 12 that I really started training for golf, always in parallel with climbing. In 2009, I played in my first Grand Prix, which made me want to go further, as the competition motivated me. In 2012, I joined the Pôle Espoirs in Antibes, then two years later the France centre in Paris. The following year, I took part in my first tournament abroad, then in my second tournament in 2014 and I then played in national and international tournaments to finally become a professional on the Let Access in February 2017, after obtaining my Baccalauréat. 

 

How do you see your profession today?

I think that living from one's passion is great, women's golf is still undeveloped at the moment but I hope it will improve. 

 

How do you see yourself in five years? In 10 years?

In five years, I would like to play on both continents, my family is important to me, I think it is too early to part from them. In 10 years, I see myself playing on the LPGA, being one of the best and participating in the most prestigious tournaments. For the moment, I can't see the end of my career and I would like it to continue for as long as possible.

 

This interview was conducted in 2017

Photo credit: Céline Anaya Gautier