Emma GRECHI
Golfer

Emma received a grant to help her finance her participation in international competitions.

What is your sporting background?
I grew up in a family where sport was omnipresent, so it was natural that I discovered tennis, skiing, judo and finally golf, with my grandmother, at the age of 10. I quickly reduced my handicap and took part in my first French championships two years later. A top 20 finish and a title of French champion in the under-13 team gave me such emotions that I told my parents that I wanted to become a professional player on the tour, and I strove for all the means to achieve this. My amateur career can be summed up with 14 Grand Prix victories, two French Champion titles in the Junior and Cadette categories, as well as two runner-up championships in the Ladies and Cadette categories. I had the honour of being selected to represent France at the European Girls and Ladies Team Championships. On the international amateur circuit, I achieved five top-10 finishes. I turned professional in 2018 in the 2nd European division (LETAS), and won the Belfius Ladies Open in 2019, on that circuit. In the same year, I earned the right to play in the 1st European division (LET), which is where I am now.

How do you see your profession today?
Women's golf seems to be enjoying a great renaissance in Europe in recent years, thanks in particular to the support of the LPGA and the arrival of golf at the Olympic Games. Being a professional golfer is above all a job of passion that allows me to live an extraordinary life made up of a lot of work: technical, physical and mental, but also traveling, meetings and collaboration. But the essence of my job is to achieve performances that make me feel such intense emotions that only sports can give you!

How do you see yourself in five years? in 10 years?
In five years, I would like to have several victories on the Ladies European Tour and achieve one of my big dreams: to represent my country at the Olympic Games in Paris in 2024. In 10 years, I hope to join the LPGA Tour and live in the United States. Playing in major tournaments and the Solheim Cup would be highlights of my career.

This interview was conducted in 2021
Photography credit: Julia Grandperret